Amazon CCL Amazons development

patbou73

Mega Star Player
Country Flag
I’m new to Amazons. So far 2-1-0 in CCL (including a 1-0 victory against Chaos Dwarves). This is my team :
4 Blitzers
2 Catchers (one has Block)
6 Linemen (one has Wrestle)
3 Rerolls
1 Apo
160k gold in bank

No casualties so far. How should I spend my gold? The plasmoid playbook says 14-15 players and 5-6 RRs. Isn’t it a bit much? Should I buy Throwers now? Or wait to replace injured linemen? Maybe upgrade the Stadium? I’ve seen successful Amazon teams with the star player 50k discount (maybe to buy chainsaw), or the protection vs Thrown Rock and Pitch Invasion... which one?

Also, I would like to get some advices on how to get 2-1. I usually get 1-0 by successfully defending and scoring on my drive, but that’s it...

Last edited:

tys123

Courier Staff
Country Flag
In CCL I would stick to 13 players and just linemen and blitzers.
You don't plan to pass or catch the ball so +20 to the TV for a skill you don't want to use is a waste.
I would take the security gate to stop riots. It is tough to score in 2 turns with zons so the clock going back on turn 8/16 doesn't benefit you much when receiving but causes problems when kicking.

BallztotheWalla

Mega Star Player
Country Flag
what tys123 said + no team should ever have more than 3 rr (vamps excluded) and in ccl even 3 rr is pushing it. Zons in ccl is all about keeping tv low to cheese their broken starting roster and try to avoid the 1500 tv 10 guard/mb dwarf teams that some idiot farmed by playing 30 matches in 12 hours after reset.

patbou73

Mega Star Player
Country Flag
I think, because replacements are cheap, Amazons will have cash to spend on inducements every 2 or 3 games. It is then either Babes for 50k or Helmut Wulf for 60k if you have Nuffle Altar stadium upgrade. It’s probably the reason why the top Amazon teams have this upgrade instead of riot or rock protection.

patbou73

Mega Star Player
Country Flag