1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General Advancing a cage

Discussion in 'League and Team Development Tactics' started by Thick Skull, Aug 9, 2010.

1. Thick Skull

Thick Skull New Member

Country Flag:
    I'm pretty new to BB and although I get the idea of a cage as a shell around the ball carrier, I have more difficulty actually getting a break through my opponents' defence.

This is I'm sure very subjective, my opponents for the most part have known what they are doing and bashy teams are predictably more of a challenge to pry open.

I've also mostly been playing dwarves and am perhaps too impetuous for their comparatively steady style of play. Defence seems to be their forte, rather than daring attacks.

I've been trying to research specific tactics or moves for progressing a cage and have drawn a bit of a blank. Most guides I have seen tend to go rather vague on how to approach tougher teams, stating things like:"you may need to vary your tactics" etc...

I've picked up that moving sideways is sometimes enough, but I suffer psycologicaly from not being able to move more than a square closer to the TD line.

My question is, how do I break through a strong or skilled defence?

I tend to use my Trollslayers centrally, around the main LoS, should I consider moving them wider?

Grateful for any advice or links to any guides I may have missed.

2. Coach

Coach Administrator Head Coach

Country Flag:
    Are you after something more specific to Dwarfs as you mentioned Trollslayers and different teams will use different methods to advance a cage forward.

3. Netsmurf

Netsmurf Well-Known Member

Cyanide Username:
    Netsmurf
    Country Flag: