1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blood Bowl 2020 FAQ

Discussion in 'General Blood Bowl News and Discussion' started by Coach, Aug 12, 2020.

  1. dissatisfiedcow

    dissatisfiedcow Member

    Messages:
    67
    Country Flag:
    Another roll this could apply to is the distance of scattering a Thrown Team-Mate with Swoop, but now we seem to be getting into edge cases...
     
  2. Netsmurf

    Netsmurf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,951
    Location:
    Denmark, GMT+1
    Cyanide Username:
    Netsmurf
    Country Flag:
    In the old ruleset, you can only declare a block action if you are next to the target. Have they changed that?
     
  3. tys123

    tys123 Courier Staff

    Messages:
    3,345
    Country Flag:
    Yes Blitz now says
    In addition they may perform a block action the target of which must be nominated when the player is activated, before they have moved.
     
    Netsmurf likes this.
  4. dissatisfiedcow

    dissatisfiedcow Member

    Messages:
    67
    Country Flag:
    The Delcaring Actions section even states in general that actions and, if required, their target must be declared before performing the action. This (implicitly) means that the target of other actions like Stab, Hypnotic Gaze, etc. must also be declared before starting to move (although these actions don't state this as explicitly).
     
  5. tys123

    tys123 Courier Staff

    Messages:
    3,345
    Country Flag:
    Apart from Pass.
    That states you can measure at any point in your movement to any possible target square.
    So clearly you don't have to declare the target of the pass before you start moving.
     
    dissatisfiedcow likes this.
  6. Netsmurf

    Netsmurf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,951
    Location:
    Denmark, GMT+1
    Cyanide Username:
    Netsmurf
    Country Flag:
    Gotta love Grandma Wendy for the inconsistency :p
     
  7. dissatisfiedcow

    dissatisfiedcow Member

    Messages:
    67
    Country Flag:
    I think this next question will answer itself, but I still wanted to get it out there to make sure: when you spend SPP on a characteristic increase and you don't want the result you rolled (e.g. rolling 14 (+AG/PA) on a Rotspawn), you can choose a Secondary. If I'm not mistaken, you are not allowed to choose a Primary at that point, correct?
     
  8. Coach

    Coach Administrator Head Coach

    Messages:
    2,416
    Country Flag:
    The rules do specifically say that you can choose a secondary skill if you roll a characteristic increase you don't want. I can't really see any sensible league commissioner house ruling that you couldn't take a primary instead.
     
    dissatisfiedcow likes this.
  9. Jorgen_CAB

    Jorgen_CAB Member

    Messages:
    71
    Country Flag:
    I would agree... I don't see any reason why you could not agree that it could be a primary. But you still lose all the SPP as if it was for a stat increase. You pay for rolling on the table and may then choose another skill instead if you wish.
     
  10. Grevalus

    Grevalus New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Steam Username:
    Greval
    Country Flag:
    Hi all, new to this forum.. I have gone through the 2020 rules and I have some queries that I believe were not added / asked here. Please excuse if they are "silly" or obvious. However...
    1 - A failed pass interference conversion into an intercept "scatters" (3x) from the interferer, if it lands back on that player and he then catches, is it an intercept?

    2 - Throw team mate - if the thrown player lands on another player (knocking them both down), then bounces into another player, it just says "repeat the above", is that referring to bouncing again, or for knocking the 2nd player down as well? what if the thrown player is casualtied before bouncing into another player? does he still hit that player or does he roll again for injury? Do you only roll once, once he finally lands?

    3 - Plague Ridden - Says, "Hire the new Rotter exactly like you would hire a journeyman", Do we now have to PAY for the newly created Rotter? I would imagine so as in a later rule about Zombies, you get a free Zombie.

    4 - Winnings: It says the coaches half the total Fan Attendance (and add each teams touchdowns) x10000. If the total attendance was an odd number, do we round up or down or can winnings be in 5000's as well? (IE: 7000 fans attended, does each coach get 35000gp + 10000 for each touchdown?)

    Sorry if any of these were asked before...

    Thanks,
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2020
  11. Grevalus

    Grevalus New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Steam Username:
    Greval
    Country Flag:
    5 - In addition to the "Pile Driver" skill question, one would assume that this "free foul" would gain assists to the armor roll as normal (and will be sent off on doubles as usual or 5+ for biased referee?)
     
  12. Coach

    Coach Administrator Head Coach

    Messages:
    2,416
    Country Flag:
    Whilst the opposing player has ended up with the ball, they didn't do it by rolling a sucessful interception so they don't get SPP for it. Obviously each league could house rule this but I've never seen anyone do this.

    You only roll armour (and possibly injury) for the player they landed on who got knocked over. You don't roll armour for the thrown player until they finish on an unoccupied square. So the thrown player can bounce onto multiple other players, knocking each of them over in turn.

    The skill description says you may hire them. If you want to keep them then you will need to pay for them (same way you have to pay to keep a journeyman after a game), if you don't pay then they leave the team.

    As there are lots of players now who cost an odd 5,000 and it doesn't mention that you round up or down, it makes sense that each team would just get 35,000 (+ TD money) in your example.
     
  13. Grevalus

    Grevalus New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Steam Username:
    Greval
    Country Flag:
    Great thanks, all makes sense. Pity about the rotters though... also find it interesting that rotters can be turned into zombies now too.

    Unrelated but I'm seeing on many other groups that the consensus on announcing targets of actions is only pertaining to blocks as it only specifically says that in the blocking rule but not in any other action rules. The statement of "must declare the target if necessary"is being accepted as blocks only
     
  14. dissatisfiedcow

    dissatisfiedcow Member

    Messages:
    67
    Country Flag:
    I would assume so, otherwise it wouldn't be a foul.

    That was the case in the LRB6 edition as well (don't know about BB2016, never actually played it)

    The "must declare targets" is stated in the Declaring Action section on page 42 (very first sentence). I'm assuming that other groups have other consensus, either because they house ruled it, or because the rules are unclear and need an FAQ badly.

    [Edit: the Passing rules specifically state you can declare the target square after moving and it insinuates that you can change the target square while moving. My guess is that "target squares" are handled differently than "target players".

    In any case, the Passing rules are somewhat strange anyway: it is specifically stated that you can measure the range between the passing player and possible target squares. This actually suggests that you're not allowed to measure ranges anywhere on the board at any time, only after having declared the Pass action. This is absolutely stupid (in my opinion at least): you're perfectly able to measure movement before activating a player and you can overlay the passing chart over the pitch in your mind. It's not like there's guessing or chance involved.]
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2020
  15. cjblackburn

    cjblackburn Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,936
    Location:
    Stockport
    Cyanide Username:
    cjblackburn
    Country Flag:
    Off the top of my head my reading is since it’s the nomination of the block action. You nominate the target of the blitz, then move, then nominate the block action, dump off and then perform block action.
     
  16. Grevalus

    Grevalus New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Steam Username:
    Greval
    Country Flag:
    Decay was also an exclusion to creating Zombies in the past
     
  17. Mr Suplex

    Mr Suplex Member

    Messages:
    131
    Country Flag:
    Does anything in the game interact with the new definition of Stalling other than the "Throw a Rock" Prayer to Nuffle?
     
  18. Street

    Street Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,827
    Cyanide Username:
    Street
    Country Flag:
    Some of the cards you can buy and pick from interact with it as well.
     
  19. Mr Suplex

    Mr Suplex Member

    Messages:
    131
    Country Flag:
    Which cards are you referring to?
     
  20. tys123

    tys123 Courier Staff

    Messages:
    3,345
    Country Flag:
    It is an optional buy and doesn't come in the Box.