Rules help with rules

MONGOR79

Rookie
Country Flag
Hello to all.I am a new coach and I am playing with a dwarf team.I'd like to ask some questions on rules:
1. dauntless is valid only on offensive blocks? (not when opponent blocks you?)
2. when you block a carrier how many scatter rolls you make before attempting to catch the ball? one or two?
3. with juggernaut if you have block and the opponent doesn't you may choose not to push?
thanks for helping

Gallows Bait

Super Moderator
Steam Username
Gallows-Bait
Cyanide Username
Gallows Bait
Country Flag
1. Yes, dauntless only work when you are the one committing the block - you are rolling the dice to see if your player has effectively summoned up the courage to make the block. When he gets blocked he doesn't get that psychological advantage. (p64)

2. The ball scatters one square, unless it lands on someone. (p11)

3. Providing its a blitz action. Yes, the skill is "may choose" - therefore by that wording, you could equally choose not to make it a push and accept the both down (and knock down the non-block player as a result). (p65)

Nikolai II

Super Moderator
Steam Username
Dreamy
Cyanide Username
Dreamy
Country Flag
Just a point about 2: If you block the ballcarrier you only roll for scatter in case the ballcarrier goes down (is knocked down or placed prone) or you have strip ball and the ballcarrier doesn't have sure hands, in which case a push result is enough (or a defender stumbles converted to a push)

In all cases you roll the scatter from the square the ballcarrier ended up in - even if this is the same square as the one he started in (both down or stand firm)

Also note that stand firm doesn't ever protect against strip ball - only against moving.

(And while I'm at talking about stuff - note that if you are blitzing a wrestler with a block/juggernaut player you can block the victim as if he didn't have wrestle)

MONGOR79

Rookie
Country Flag