1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strength Piling on - a trap skill?

Discussion in 'League and Team Development Tactics' started by Supa, May 27, 2018.

1. Supa

Supa Member

Steam Username:
    Supa
    Country Flag:
    Piling on is considered to be a no-brainer for many teams. But I honestly don't think that's a good skill. Now I'm mainly a Skaven coach so I don't have *that* much experience with bash, but in my opinion bash is about your team just slowly rolling through with strong and durable players and lots, lots of Guard, keeping your players standing.

Of course bash teams have to cause damage and killers are indeed useful, especially on Blood Bowl 2 where MB and Claw can both be used to modify armor break. And Piling On does indeed cause lots of carnage, but not always.

My biggest problem is that Piling On knocks your POMBer down too, making him vulnerable to a foul and losing a tackle zone on your turn! I think that a killer should blitz and then retreat back to his team mates (Both down sucks though if both players have block...). Having him lay down forces you to either cage him (which makes you weaker elsewhere) or exposed to a foul (Many develop a Dirty Player at some point).

Bear in mind, I've probably played against Piling On 8-10 times but only lost once, when the POMBer was just unstoppable. Otherwise the killer has either been fouled to dust or my opponents focused a little bit too much on killing. My team suffered yes, but atleast I won those games! Skaven are cheap and even rookie Gutter Runners are dangerous. I also played against Piling On with Chaos Dwarves twice, so I've played against it with bash too.

Piling On seems to be popular in Big Crunch too. After my conscription ends I will make a team and hope that I can prove others wrong, if I decide to go Chaos. :) ;) Still, I really need some verbal convincing too regarding Piling On. :D

2. Deithwen