1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rules Questions about SSP

Discussion in 'General Blood Bowl News and Discussion' started by adamacer, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. adamacer

    adamacer New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Country Flag:
    A couple of incidents occured during our latest Tabletop session which gave rise to questions.

    Situation A: Two players are ":bothdown:" and both get injured (casualties.) Do Both, one or none get ssp?

    Second question was if anyone is awarded ssp after a failed dodge that results in a casualty?

    Cant seem to find anything about it in the rules or on these forums.

    Adam
     
  2. Narly Bird

    Narly Bird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,993
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country Flag:
    From playing on Cyanide, i can tell you that answer to a) is both get the SPP and the answer to b) is no spp given on failed dodge.

    Can't quote you sections of the rulebook though, so perhaps someone else can do that?
     
  3. Mico Selva

    Mico Selva Active Member

    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Outside Reality
    Country Flag:
    It is as You say, Narly Bird:

     
  4. adamacer

    adamacer New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Country Flag:
    Another question that we discussed springs to mind.
    One o fthe coaches has decided to Play Goblins (brave soul), and was wondering about the Bombardier. If the bombardier is successful with his "Bomb-pass" is it an "accurate throw" and grants any player in that square a +1 to catch? Sounds odd if its an opponent..

    Adam
     
  5. Narly Bird

    Narly Bird Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,993
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country Flag:
    The answer to that is yes. It counts as an accurate pass and therefore the player (even an opponent) gets to add +1 to the catch. I had 2 bitter experiences with that in CCII against Thanatos and his Elven like Blitz Ras. The damned bastard was carrying the ball at the time too, so he would have had to catch both bombs 1-handed. And he managed to lob them back and kick my butt! After the match the Throw Ras skilled up and very appropriately got +AG.

    I will have to defer again to Mico for quoting the relevant section though. :eek:
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  6. Mico Selva

    Mico Selva Active Member

    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Outside Reality
    Country Flag:
    You are right again, Narly Bird.

    Here's the skill description (highlight mine):

    So, basically, yes, You should not be throwing the bomb directly to the opponent, as he gets to catch, not intercept it, if You manage to throw accurately.

    Unless every instance of opposing team's player trying to catch a thrown ball counts as an interception? I don't know, but I think not.

    This means You should also be able to throw the bomb to Your own player for him to throw it again. Now this sounds like an awesome idea which I have to try out!
     
  7. adamacer

    adamacer New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Country Flag:
    Another question, if only casualties inflicted as an outcome of a block grants SSP does that mean casualties inflicted with the skill "Piling on" does not grant SSP either?

    Adam
     
  8. Gallows Bait

    Gallows Bait Super Moderator Moderator

    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Hull
    Cyanide Username:
    Gallows Bait
    Country Flag:
    Piling on should allow spp on casualties as it is a skill that allows a re-roll as part of a block action, as far as I'm aware. It isn't a separate action.
     
  9. adamacer

    adamacer New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Country Flag:
    So can an opposing player "Catch" a bomb/ball or is it always counted as an interception attempt even if the throw was aimed at the square where the player stood?

    Adam
     
  10. Gallows Bait

    Gallows Bait Super Moderator Moderator

    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Hull
    Cyanide Username:
    Gallows Bait
    Country Flag:
    From the quoted rules above, if its thrown at them, its a catch not an interception.

    Does also beg the question whether an accurate pass would give the bomb thrower a spp, but I doubt that is the intention since technically it isn't a pass action. :)
     
  11. Coach

    Coach Administrator Head Coach

    Messages:
    2,173
    Country Flag:
    The completion rules specifically mention the ball so you don't get one for passing a bomb.
     
  12. adamacer

    adamacer New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Country Flag:
    nvm.. found the answer..

    Adam
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  13. Alex

    Alex New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Country Flag:
    does intercept the bomb grant you 2 spp, like normal interception ?
     
  14. Street

    Street Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,629
    Cyanide Username:
    Street
    Country Flag:
    Can't say what the ruling should be, in bloodbowl 1 it certainly did not. I would assume it shouldn't though seeing as pass block doesn't work when a bomb is thrown.
     
  15. tys123

    tys123 Courier Staff

    Messages:
    2,857
    Country Flag:
    It mentions ball on SPP for interceptions in the same way as for a completed pass so Street is correct and you shouldn't get SPP for a interception of a bomb.