1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Elf Starting roster and scoring strategy

Discussion in 'League and Team Development Tactics' started by Ancre, Jan 30, 2010.

1. Ancre

Ancre Member

Hello everyone ! I am a new coach trying to decide what team will I get to play table top blood bowl. I have a bit of experience with a bunch of different teams on FUMBBL, and so far those I like best are chaos dwarfs and high elves. AV7 is really frightening under LRB4 rules, but not so much under LRB5, due to the new niggling injury and the journeymen rules, it seems. So I want to try to play a pro elf team, because they have everything I want on my high elves (and because they look cool) :)

For quite a long time I had quite some trouble protecting the ball carrier while I rushed my players into the opponent's half. I couldn't build a real cage, all I could do was putting two of my players on each side of the ball carrier and hope that the following blitz won't put him down. It is with the starting skills of the pro elves that an idea came to my mind : instead of hoping the ball carrier won't get down on the opponent blitz, I intend to give him dump-off and have a catcher (with nerves of steel) nearby - that way, bar a very unfortunate succession of ones (as I can reroll both the pass and the catch), I will keep the ball in my hands in order to score in the following turn. I am probably reinventing hot water, but I'd like to know how effective that is, because it looks like it's very good ! :)

Also, I don't really know what to get in a starting roster. My first idea is : 3 rerolls, 2 throwers (who will get dump-off), 1 catcher, 1 blitzer, 7 linemen, 1 apothecary and 30k left in the piggy bank. Is it any good ? I have everything I need and I can begin to save for another positional right away with that.